Listening, advising and supporting our members since 1895

0131 556 8866

President and Board


SBF President - Stephen Kemp

Stephen is the Managing Director of Orkney Builders (Contractors) Ltd based in Kirkwall. Stephen joined the family business in 1998 following a period of both studying and working in Edinburgh and was appointed as the Managing Director in 2016.   

Orkney Builders offer a wide range of construction services throughout Orkney, from large scale industrial, commercial and residential projects through to individual private house builds and renovations.

Stephen is the President of the Scottish Building Federation's Orkney Association and is also the Chair of the local CITB training group.

On receiving the SBF President's Chains of Office in March 2017 Stephen said "I would like to take this opportunity to formally recognise the considerable efforts of my predecessor and Immediate Past President, Mike Smith, who made a significant contribution to the work of the Federation over the past 2 years, whilst undertaking his day job as Managing Director of WBS Keillor Ltd in Dundee.”  

Stephen continued “I would also like to thank the Members of the Scottish Building Federation for electing me as their President. It is my intention to promote the Federation and the interests of our Members during my Presidency and I look forward to working more closely with my fellow Directors and the team at SBF to offer assistance wherever I can.”


Senior Office Bearers



Stephen Kemp

Orkney Builders (Contractors) Ltd


Immediate Past President

Mike Smith 

WBS Keillor Ltd  



Senior Vice President

Alan Morris

Fourply Ltd


Company Secretary 

 Karen McGahan    

 William Waugh and Sons Ltd



Board of Directors


Michael Ballantyne

M&J Ballantyne Ltd


Craig Bruce

Pert-Bruce Construction Ltd       


Robert Cooke                   

Marshall Construction Ltd


William Gray

William Gray Construction Ltd


Vaughan Hart

Scottish Building Federation


Ian Honeyman

Scottish Building Federation


Stephen Kemp

Orkney Builders (Contractors) Ltd


Graham Kelly

Thomas Johnstone Ltd


William Kirkwood

RDK Construction Ltd



Iain Macaskill

D A MacDonald Contractors Ltd


Alan Morris

Fourply Ltd


Karen Nicoll

D J Laing (Contracts) Ltd


Dawn Read

Hutton & Read Ltd


Frank Reid

Robertson Group Ltd


Michael Smith

WBS Keillor Ltd


David Taylor

W.B. Dodds Ltd


Douglas Thomson

CHAP Construction (Aberdeen) Ltd